A-Z List | Accessible Info | Careers | Contact Us

Awards, Success and Recognition Image Customer Service
...at its finest!

National Quality Institute Logo Region of Peel's Excellence Initiative - Fact Sheet

1) What is the Region's Excellence Initiative?

The Excellence Initiative provides the Region with the necessary assessment and evaluation tools to improve the way it delivers programs and services. It involves activities throughout the organization. At the corporate level, there are four organizational key improvement projects currently underway: Corporate Planning Process, Employee Satisfaction, Citizen/Client/Customer Focus and Process Management.

2) What is NQI?

The National Quality Institute (NQI) is an independent, not-for-profit organization with a vision of "Inspiring Excellence in Canada" and a mission "to assist Canadian organizations improve performance" through the adoption of quality principles and practices in all sectors of the economy. NQI acts as the Canadian body for ISO 9000 series Quality Management System Auditor Certification.

3) What is the Canadian Quality Criteria for Public Sector Excellence?

NQI developed the Canadian Quality Criteria for Public Sector Excellence (the "Criteria") with assistance from professionals from across the public service. The Criteria serves as a framework for effective public service organizations and agencies at all levels, including government departments, schools and school boards, hospitals, police forces, etc.

4) What is the Canada Awards for Excellence Program/PEP Certification?

The Canada Awards for Excellence (CAE) is Canada's own awards for recognizing outstanding achievement. Achieving this award will be verification that the Region of Peel demonstrates outstanding continuous achievement in seven key areas: Leadership, Planning, Citizen/Client Focus, People Focus, Process Management, Supplier/Partner Focus and Organizational Performance. Organizations can progress toward the Canada Awards for Excellence using the Progressive Excellence Program (PEP).

There are four levels in PEP. Each level requires demonstration of a progressively deeper and broader commitment to excellence and resulting achievement.

5) Which private/public organizations have received PEP Awards?

  • Level 1: Canada Post Corporation; Canadian Blood Services; Town of Parry Sound
  • Level 2: Bank of Canada; Town of Markham
  • Level 3: Region of Peel; Bank of Canada (Government Securities Services)
    CAE Winners: NCR Corp., Mississauga, (Healthy Workplace Trophy); Delta Hotels; IBM; Dofasco Inc., (Hamilton, Ontario - Healthy Workplace Award); Envision Financial; Gleneagles Elementary School; Diversicare Canada, Mississauga; The Cardiac Care Network of Ontario; Canada Post (Saskatoon Operations)


Back to the Excellence Award Home Page

Revised: Thursday July 26 2007


Home | Contact Us | Search | A-Z Topic List
Privacy & Terms of Use | Service Commitment

Smaller Text Larger Text